top of page

Does This Meaning I'm Dreaming; Chapter 2.


Hidden mysteries, just behind your ears, tucked right between the skies.

Wipe away your fears and don't believe their lies.

Dream big and aim high, don't you want to live before you die?

 

The wheels clack loudly as they hit the vert wall. The bearings are growling deeply, sending intense vibrations through my legs. The transition makes me feel weak as the force pulling me downward intensifies. “Crack!” The tail slaps the coping. I grab the board in front and prepare for engagement after the decent. In this moment the only possibility is right now. That’s all that matters.

The decision to do something carries so much power, it can’t hardly be understood by those who have not consciously observed its splendid impact on the direction of our lives. The decision to dream came very early in my own life. I knew the first time I saw my father draw. Glistening wide eyes, a toothy grin and a mind full of overwhelming awe. I thought everyone could do it. I thought I could too. I learned quickly though, no one else I knew could come close to the quality my father produced. This was something special. It was extraordinary and the only thing I’ve ever wanted.

I am a fortunate one. Knowing what you want is the first step to achieving it. Knowing what I wanted didn’t begin as a specific vision. I just knew I wanted to create beautiful works of art. I wanted to dazzle and perplex people, like I had felt growing up. I wanted to really say something important. It’s because of that I was able to force the pencil into my hand. I did everything I could to learn how to force that pencil to speak. I failed over and over again. I crumpled mountains of paper and cried tears of intense frustration. And then I picked the pencil up again and failed some more. I may have succeeded a few times along the way, little successes, seemingly insignificant to say in fact. At least compared to where I was heading, what I knew I was capable of.

My blood is pounding through my veins. I can feel them pumping oxygen into my muscles. I can feel my brain lighting up. My vibrations pulsate through the Youniverse at much higher frequencies than normal. I push, one, two, three times. I shift my feet into place and position my balance on the tail of the board and with one swift, “Pop!” We hurl through the air. It happens within the blink of an eye but, in this very moment, time stays still for me. My skateboard is rotating. It’s such a graceful movement. Dance. I see the wheels now and begin pushing my feet out to grab the grip tape. The board smacks the soles of my shoes as we’re still rising into the air.

Even this moment feels surreal. I feel in control of my mind and body. I feel like I control time. I feel like I. Just. Am. We begin to fall and I snap back to the illusive flow of time I’m used to. “Crack!” We hit the ground and roll away. I’ve visualized this moment in my head dozens of times. I tried many times, fell many times. But, each time I got back up. I wanted to see this vision through. The first time it happens is mind blowing. It’s exactly the way I envisioned it. Wanna know what the crazy part is? You can do this too. With anything.

Whether you decide you can or cannot, you are right. Believe in the power of your mind and believe in the power of decision. The lack of consciously using our minds and decisions creates a whirlwind of problems mentally and physically. Don’t take my word for it; experiment with this. Observe this in your own life, if you dare.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page